Elon Musk’s SpaceX capsule splashes down off Florida coast

US

FILE PHOTO: The SpaceX Crew Dragon capsule approaches the International Space Station March 3, 2019. NASA/Handout via REUTERS

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla (Reuters) – An unmanned capsule from Elon Musk’s SpaceX splashed down into the Atlantic Ocean on Friday morning after a short-term stay on the International Space Station, capping the first orbital test mission in NASA’s long-delayed quest to resume human space flight from U.S. soil later this year.

After a five-day mission on the orbital outpost, Crew Dragon autonomously detached about 2:30 a.m EST (0730 GMT) on Friday and sped back to earth reaching hypersonic speeds before an 8:45 a.m. EST (1345 GMT) splash-down in the Atlantic, about 200 miles off the Florida coast.

A SpaceX rocket launched the 16-foot-tall capsule from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida last Saturday.

The first-of-its-kind mission, ahead of SpaceX’s crewed test flight slated for June, brought 400 pounds of test equipment to the space station, including a dummy named Ripley, outfitted with sensors around its head, neck, and spine to monitor how a flight would feel for a human.

The space station’s three-member crew greeted the capsule last Sunday, with U.S. astronaut Anne McClain and Canadian astronaut David Saint-Jacques entering Crew Dragon’s cabin to carry out air quality tests and inspections.

Reporting by Joey Roulette; Editing by Jeffrey Benkoe

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Pence arrives in Nebraska as U.S. Midwest reels from historic floods
Apple’s iPhone struggles unravel ambitions of Japan Display
Over 60,000 people, mostly civilians, have fled last IS Syria enclave: SDF
Trump eyes Stephen Moore for Fed governor: Bloomberg News
Alan Krueger, economic adviser to Obama and Clinton, takes own life at 58

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *